Support Us

Home > NHPC News > Featured Articles > New Haven Pride Center Announces 2012 Dorothy Award Honorees

New Haven Pride Center Announces 2012 Dorothy Award Honorees

Published Jan 8, 2012

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Edit page New page Hide edit links

The New Haven Pride Center (NHPC) is excited to announce the recipients of its prestigious 2012 Dorothy Awards, which honor members of the local community for their contributions to LGBT life.

This year’s honorees truly come from all walks of life, including politics, social services, arts & culture, and entertainment. The New Haven Pride Center is proud to be honoring such a diverse, esteemed group of people; this distinguished group is a testament to our vibrant local culture.

Our 2012 Dorothy Award honorees are:

  • Hartford Mayor Pedro Segarra, Mayor of Connecticut’s capital city since June 2010, and only the second openly gay mayor of a state capital city.
  • Out Film CT, a non-profit cultural organization based in Hartford, and organizers of the Connecticut Gay & Lesbian Film Festival, now celebrating its 25th anniversary.
  • Diana Richter, Ph.D., Executive Director of New Haven’s own Downtown Evening Soup Kitchen, entering its 25th year of feeding our area’s homeless and others in need.
  • Robin Banks, impresario, emcee, entertainer, local New Haven fixture and fundraiser, who has contributed to tens of thousands of dollars being raised for local organizations.

To read the biographies of our distinguished honorees, click here.

NHPC board member and Dorothy Committee co-chair Kathryn Thomas is especially delighted with this year’s roster of honorees. “It is certainly a sign of the times that these representatives of the LGBT community are also such significant contributors to the community-at-large. These honorees are being recognized for work that goes far beyond the borders of sexual orientation or gender, and we couldn’t be more thrilled to honor them for that work.”

The event will be held on Saturday, March 3, 2012, at Fantasia in North Haven, CT, and will be hosted by Frank DeMayo, with music from Deborah Wang and Fullsound Productions. Past Dorothy Award winners, The Imperial Sovereign Court of All Connecticut will contribute a very special performance. All proceeds from the event benefit the New Haven Pride Center, its services and programs.

Tickets for the awards are available by clicking here. Advance tickets are available at the early bird rate of $75 before January 31. After January 31, ticket prices increase to $100.

Founded in 1996, the New Haven Pride Center (NHPC) is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization, now celebrating its fifteenth season, serving the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning/queer community and its allies. The NHPC is New Haven County’s only LGBTQ-focused community center and is an all-volunteer organization that relies on financial contributions for its existence. The NHPC’s mission is to educate the Greater New Haven community about LGBTQ issues; to advocate for equality and justice; and to provide a safe and accessible place for all LGBTQ persons and their allies.

Tags: Dorothy, featured articles

Add a Comment

Please be civil.

(Use Markdown for formatting.)

This question helps prevent spam: