The Dorothy Awards

March, 2021
5:30 – 10:30p


Every year at the Dorothy Awards Dinner, the New Haven Pride Center honors incredible LGBTQ+ Nutmeggers that are having a huge impact and creating positive change for Connecticut’s LGBTQ+ community. From organizers and activists on the front lines of the fight against HIV/AIDS and for civil rights for our community, to artists and performers who showcase our community’s creativity, the Dorothy Awards honorees are shining stars for LGBTQ+ visibility.

Honorees are selected from a pool of community nominations, with the goal of celebrating folks from throughout Connecticut, and our list of past honorees includes folks from every corner of our state.

Save the Date and plan to join us for the 18th year of our Awards Dinner in March 2021.

All proceeds of the Dorothy Awards support the important work of the New Haven Pride Center which includes our five focus areas; creating a safe space for case management, support services, and resource sharing; social programming and bringing people together; educational activities, awareness building, and youth programming; arts, culture and humanities events; and advocacy for the community. Additionally a portion of the Dorothy Awards specifically support the New Haven Pride Center’s Scholarship Fund.

Meet Our 18th Honorees

We are excited to begin the process of recruiting nominations from the community for honorees for the 18th year of our Awards Dinner. Know someone we should be considering for one of this years’ honorees? Nominate an honoree here.


Read more about last years’ honorees here.

Check Out Photos from Last Year

Thank You to Our 2020 Sponsors

Interested in sponsoring the 2021 Awards? Contact our Executive Director Patrick J Dunn

Our Hosts

Photo by Megan McGory-Gleason.

The 17th Annual Dorothy Awards were hosted by Joshua O’Connell and Kiki Lucia for a 3rd year in row – will they be back for a 4th year? Stay tuned to find out!

Social Media Hosts

At the 17th Annual Dorothy Awards, we welcomed social media influencer Jean Michael Coronado as our social media host. Stay tuned to who will be hosting this years’ event soon!


Akira perofrming at the 16th Annual Awards Dinner. Photo by Megan McGory Gleason.

Entertainment at the 18th Annual Dorothy Awards includes performances by Mx PRIDE New Haven Rory Roux-Lay and many other incredible artists. Read more about last years’ entertainment.